All focus goes to the villains as Marvel reveals X-Men Black to be series of villain-centric one-shots

Magneto, Emma Frost & more villains will take the spotlight in a series of one-shots under the X-Men Black banner


Shortly before San Diego Comic-Con began, Marvel dropped a teaser with Magneto and the title X-Men Black upon it. It seemed that there was going to be another colorful X-Men centered title arriving this fall just in time to replace the September concluding X-Men: Gold X-Men: Blue). During their X-Men panel at San Diego Comic-Con, Marvel pulled back the proverbial curtain.

As reported by Newsarama, the previously teased X-Men: Black series is likely not what many expected. Rather than being an ongoing series, X-Men: Black is a series of five one-shots featuring stories on five X-Men villains. Those villains are Magneto, Emma Frost, Juggernaut, Mojo, and Mystique with every issue featuring a back-up story about Apocalypse from the Cable series team of Lonnie Nadler and Zac Thompson.

The creative teams are:

  • Magneto: Chris Claremont & Dalibor Talajic
  • Mojo: Scott Auckerman & Nick Bradshaw
  • Mystique: Seanan McGuire & Marco Failia
  • Juggernaut: Robbie Thompson & Shawn Crystal
  • Emma Frost: Leah Williams & Chris Bachalo

Each cover will be drawn by Scott J. Campbell, just like the teaser image shared, and the mini will roll out weekly in October.



Share your thoughts with us!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s